My review of Hamilton on the West End in London

Hey readers,

I wanted to share with you my experience of my trip to Hamilton at the Victoria Palace in London. I was given tickets for myself and my brother for our birthdays as they were very important birthdays. My brother has been wanting to see Hamilton since it opened in the West End and is always listening to the music. Hamilton was written by Lin Manuel-Miranda. If I am honest I did not know what to expect as I purposely tried to keep away from any spoilers or any of the music. Although, As a big musical fan I listen to a lot of Musical playlists both West End and Broadway on Spotify. When thinking about the different elements of the experience of seeing Hamilton I thought I would break them up into sections.

The First thing you see is the Victoria Palace Theatre which is the theatre where Hamilton is currently on the West End. My first thoughts of the theatre was it was a very beautiful and pictureous building and I obviously took a picture of the theatre. In the programme for Hamilton it explains about the building and the cast in more detail. I thought it was so interesting to read about the play and the theatre itself. Reading about the theatre might not interest everyone but I am always interested to read about all elements of the building and show itself when seeing a show. When inside the building I tend to look up at the ceiling ( sounds weird I know) because often the ceilings look magnificent and are all very unique.

Due to my health conditions i spoke to the access line and managed to get accessible seating for myself and my brother. Although, I booked the tickets months in advances. The seats we had were really good. They were at the end of the row but for me that was ideal as I was able to get out easily. I was very impressed by the accessibility tickets at Hamilton. At the Delfront Mackintosh theatre they have a access line and they have a dedicated front of house staff for those with disabilities and who need access help .

At Hamilton, which i have to say it was the first theatre i have ever experienced due to having an accessible ticket that there is a dedicated front of house staff member who had a list with the names of those who may need help and those who had accessibility tickets. They made themselves known to me and said if i needed any help for example throughout he told me his name and gave me useful information to know. I was very impressed with this as it was very helpful and i was reassured. They explained that they normally welcome you at the front of the theatre as you come in to help as you go in or if you need help finding your seat but if not they catch up and introduce themselves before the show starts in the theatre.

Unlike other shows in the west end where you can Stage door. Unfortunately at Hamilton it is not the case the cast do not stage door. Myself and my brother did not know we were lucky that after the show my brother managed to get a photo with Karl Queensborough who played Hamilton.

The cast of Hamilton i thought were incredible and highly talented. I do have a few special recognition’s i would like to make. One of the special recognition i would like to make are to the amazing dancers in Hamilton who were incredible and i was amazed at the talent of the dancers. One of individual recognition i would like to make is to the incredible Trevor Dion Nicholas who plaid George Washington his vocal range was so impressive and extensive and i recognized him from playing the Genie in Aladdin ( which fun fact was one of the shows i am gutted i missed during its run in the West end).

The next recognition i would like to make is to Gavin Spokes who Played King George he was absolutely hilarious throughout the show and his character and personality had such a big stage presence. I feel like Gavin being cast in this role was the perfect fitting as he was hilarious and his facial expressions were hilarious which was the point.

There were a lot more recognitions i would like to make but if i made all of the recognitions i would be here all week and it would be a long blog post/ review. I am so proud of the whole cast.

The music used in Hamilton was very catchy and i absolutely loved the raps and if i am honest i do not normally listen and enjoy rapping but i absolutely loved the raps and i am now obsessed with listening to them . Another thing i would like to say is that i do not know how the cast managed to rap and follow the choreography whilst rapping.

Overall experience

My overall experience of going to see Hamilton was that before going to see it i was not sure i would enjoy seeing it as not normally into rapping but my mind was very much changed with the whole experience I would like to thank Leo who was the dedicated front of house staff member who made me feel very welcome and reassured. I was very impressed with the service of the staff at the Victoria Palace and Delfront Mackintosh. If i do ever get the chance to see Hamilton i definitely will go and see it again. I very much enjoyed and i can understand why it is such a popular show and the hype. I loved experiencing watching Hamilton and feel like i learnt a lot about the history of America.

The tickets were very much worth the money spent and i would highly recommend going to see the incredible show that is Hamilton. Well done to everybody involved all of the creative team and those working hard backstage as they need to be appreciated and to all of the dancers , ensemble and all those on the stage. The set was very basic but incredibly effective.

Leave a comment